Iceland

If you can't get enough of volcanoes, lava fields, hot springs and geysers, a visit to Iceland is just the thing for you. Look forward to a fairytale world whose natural wonders you can see and feel up close.

Why travel to Iceland?

Food

In Iceland, people love to eat and, above all, they enjoy variety. Icelandic cuisine is something for real gourmets, and there is also something for the brave who like to try unusual dishes. From the popular skyr, which has also made it into our supermarkets, to delicacies such as mutton testicles and fermented shark, there is a variety of delicious food to discover on the small island.

Culture

Despite freezing cold in winter, few hours of sunshine and lonely isolation, the Icelandic population is one of the happiest people on earth. In Iceland, the appreciation for art is very high and the small country in the north is full of music enthusiasts, as many of the locals also like to be creative in their free time.

People

Iceland's society is very open and accepts people as they are. Towards strangers, the inhabitants are also very welcoming and helpful. So don't be afraid to approach them if you ever need help.

Nature

The island is known for its incredible natural beauty. From hot springs to wild horses and colorful northern lights, Iceland fascinates in many ways. Nature beckons with breathtaking waterfalls, imposing glaciers and impressive fjords.

National language of Iceland

Icelandic

Currency of Iceland

Icelandic krona (1€ ≈ 145 Icelandic krona)

How do I say thank you in Iceland?

Takk!

Time zone of Iceland

The time difference from Central Europe is -1 hour.

Best time to travel to Iceland

All year round - aurora borealis from September to March

Secret places in iceland

A 50€ voucher is waiting for you

Sign up now for the TripLegend newsletter for free and get 50€ off your first booking. Get travel inspiration and adventure ideas delivered to your inbox.

Island

Wenn du von Vulkanen, Lavafeldern, heißen Quellen und Geysiren nicht genug bekommen kannst, ist ein Besuch in Island genau das Richtige für dich. Freue dich auf eine Märchenwelt, deren Naturwunder du aus nächster Nähe sehen und spüren kannst.

Warum nach Island reisen?

Essen

In Island isst man gern und vor allem abwechslungsreich. Die isländische Küche ist dabei etwas für echt Feinschmecker und auch für die Mutigen, die gern außergewöhnliche Gerichte probieren, ist etwas dabei. Vom beliebten Skyr, der es auch in unsere Supermärkte geschafft hat, bis hin zu Delikatessen wie Hammelhoden und fermentiertem Hai, gibt es auf der kleinen Insel eine Vielfalt an leckerem Essen zu entdecken.

Kultur

Trotz eisiger Kälte im Winter, wenigen Sonnenstunden und einsamer Abgeschiedenheit gehört die isländische Bevölkerung zu den glücklichsten Menschen der Erde. In Island ist das Verständnis für Kunst sehr hoch und das kleine Land im Norden ist voll mit Musikbegeisterten, da viele der Einheimischen auch in ihrer Freizeit gerne kreativ tätig sind.

Menschen

Islands Gesellschaft ist sehr offen und akzeptiert die Menschen so, wie sie sind. Fremden gegenüber sind die Einwohner ebenfalls sehr offen und hilfsbereit. Also scheu Dich nicht, diese anzusprechen, wenn Du einmal Hilfe brauchst.

Natur

Die Insel ist bekannt für seine unfassbare Naturschönheit. Von heißen Quellen bis hin zu Wildpferden und bunten Nordlichtern - Island fasziniert auf vielfache Weise. Die Natur lockt mit atemberaubenden Wasserfällen, imposanten Gletschern und beeindruckenden Fjorden.

Landessprache von Island

Isländisch

Währung von Island

Isländische Krone (1€ ≈ 145 Isländische Kronen)

Wie sage ich Danke in Island?

Takk!

Zeitzone in Island

Der Zeitunterschied zu Mitteleuropa beträgt -1 Stunde.

Beste Reisezeit um nach Island zu reisen

Das ganze Jahr über – Polarlichter von September bis März

Geheime Orte in island