Greenland

Greenland - the largest island on Earth, politically belongs to the Kingdom of Denmark as an autonomous part. In total, the island is home to only about 55,000 people on its 2 million square kilometers. Thus, more than 80 percent of the total island area is permanently covered with ice.

Why travel to Greenland?

Food

You can definitely say that meat and fish dominate Greenlandic cuisine - sometimes even raw. For example, many locals have whale or seal meat on the menu. For example, whale can be eaten as a raw steak or as so-called "mattak" - the raw skin of the beluga whale. A popular way to prepare seal meat is as a stew. Here the meat takes on a chocolate brown color. Another delicacy is the caribou steak, the meat is quite expensive, but is incredibly tasty in smoked form. Last but not least, of course, reindeer steak cannot be missed as a specialty of the country. When it comes to popular drinks in Greenland, coffee and tea are at the top of the list. Thus, kaffemik is a popular tradition in Greenland. Since somewhat stronger spirits are quite expensive, the main alcoholic beverages consumed are beer and wine.

Culture

Today's culture of Greenland has developed from various influences. As most people can imagine, the most important role is played by the Inuit, the original population of Greenland. A lot of their legends and myths have survived the years and have been adapted in many ways to the present time. Their stories reflect their daily experiences of the people with the changing seasons, the ice and the animals. For example, a beautiful cultural celebration is the return of light after the long and dark winter is over and the first rays of sunlight reach Greenland once again.

People

Greenland is considered the largest island in the world, but it is also the least populated island in the world. With an area of just over 2 million km², Greenland is about 6 times the size of Germany. Today, just under 56,000 people live in Greenland, so if you're looking for peace and quiet, this is the place to be. About 89 % of the population were already born in Greenland, while the remaining 11 % are immigrant Danes or other nationals. 48,000 of the 56,000 inhabitants are distributed in the various towns. The remaining 8,500 people are distributed among about 60 small settlements in the country. Moreover, Greenlanders are famous for their hospitality. So you can expect a warm welcome should you have planned a trip to Greenland.

Nature

Greenland's different climatic conditions are particularly noticeable in the vegetation. The southwest is significantly milder, which means that there is a great diversity of species of lichens, mosses and grasses. If you go further north, the number of plant species decreases significantly, which is due to the increasing cold. In Greenland you will find the typical "polar animals", such as reindeer, arctic foxes - or wolves, snow hares, seals, whales and not to forget polar bears. Greenland is simply enchanting with its rugged nature, icebergs, northern lights, midnight sun, green fields, inland ice and even sandy beaches. In Greenland you will definitely get a sense of the power of nature.

Greenland national language

Greenlandic

Greenland currency

Danish kroner (1€ ≈ 7.4 Danish kroner)

How do I say thank you in Greenland?

Qujan

Greenland Time Zone

The time difference from Central Europe is -3 hours.

Best time to travel to Greenland

May to September, Northern Lights from September to March

Secret places in Greenland

A 50€ voucher is waiting for you

Sign up now for the TripLegend newsletter for free and get 50€ off your first booking. Get travel inspiration and adventure ideas delivered to your inbox.

Grönland

Grönland – die größte Insel der Erde, gehört politisch gesehen als autonomer Teil zu dem Königreich Dänemark. Insgesamt beherbergt die Insel auf ihren 2 Millionen Quadratkilometer nur rund 55.000 Menschen. Somit sind mehr als 80 Prozent der gesamten Inselfläche dauerhaft mit Eis bedeckt sind.

Warum nach Grönland reisen?

Essen

Man kann definitiv sagen, dass Fleisch und Fisch in der grönländischen Küche dominiert - teilweise sogar roh. So steht zum Beispiel bei vielen Einheimischen Wal- oder Seehundefleisch auf dem Speiseplan. Beispielsweise kann Wal als rohes Steak gegessen werden oder als sogenanntes "Mattak" - die rohe Haut des Beluga Wals. Eine beliebte Zubereitungsart von Seehundefleisch ist der Eintopf. Hierbei nimmt das Fleisch eine schokoladenbraune Farbe an. Eine weitere Delikatesse ist das Karibu-Steak, das Fleisch ist zwar recht teuer, ist in geräucherter Form jedoch unglaublich schmackhaft. Zu guter Letzt darf natürlich das Rentiersteak als eine Spezialität des Landes nicht fehlen. Wenn es um beliebte Getränke in Grönland geht, stehen Kaffee und Tee ganz oben auf der Liste. Somit ist der Kaffemik eine beliebte Tradition in Grönland. Da etwas stärkere Spirituosen recht teuer sind, werden an alkoholischen Getränken hauptsächlich Bier und Wein getrunken.

Kultur

Die heutige Kultur Grönlands hat sich aus verschiedenen Einflüssen entwickelt. Wie sich die meisten schon denken können, spielt die wichtigste Rolle hierbei die Inuit, die ursprüngliche Bevölkerung Grönlands. Eine Menge ihrer Sagen und Mythen haben die Jahre überdauert und wurden auf vielfältige Weise in die heutige Zeit adaptiert. Ihre Geschichten spiegeln ihre täglichen Erfahrungen der Menschen mit dem Wechsel der Jahreszeiten, dem Eis und den Tieren wider. Ein schönes kulturelles Fest ist zum Beispiel die Rückkehr des Lichtes, nachdem der lange und dunkle Winter vorbei ist und die ersten Sonnenstrahlen Grönland nochmal erreichen.

Menschen

Grönland gilt zwar als größte Insel der Welt, ist aber gleichzeitig auch die bevölkerungsärmste Insel der Welt. Mit einer Fläche von knapp über 2 Millionen km² ist Grönland ungefähr 6 Mal so groß wie Deutschland. Heute leben knapp 56.000 Menschen in Grönland, wer also seine Ruhe sucht, ist hier genau richtig. Etwa 89 % der Bevölkerung wurden bereits in Grönland geboren, während die restlichen 11 % zugezogene Dänen oder andere Staatsangehörige sind. 48.000 der 56.000 Einwohner sind in den verschiedenen Städten verteilt. Die restlichen 8.500 Menschen sind auf rund 60 kleine Siedlungen des Landes verteilt. Außerdem sind die Grönländer berühmt für ihre Gastfreundschaft. Ihr könnt euch also auf ein herzliches Willkommen einstimmen, solltet ihr eine Reise nach Grönland geplant haben.

Natur

Vor allem bei der Vegetation machen sich die unterschiedlichen klimatischen Bedingungen Grönlands bemerkbar. Der Südwesten ist deutlich milder, wodurch es eine große Artenvielfalt an Flechten, Moosen und Gräsern gibt. Geht man weiter in den Norden, nimmt die Anzahl an Pflanzenarten deutlich ab, was auf die zunehmende Kälte zurückzuführen ist. In Grönland findest du die typischen "Polartiere", wie zum Beispiel Rentiere, Polarfüchse - oder Wölfe, Schneehasen, Robben, Wale und nicht zu vergessen Eisbären. Grönland ist mit seiner rauen Natur, den Eisbergen, Nordlichtern, der Mitternachtssonne, grünen Feldern, dem Inlandeis und sogar Sandstränden einfach nur bezaubernd. In Grönland wirst du definitiv ein Gespür für die Macht der Natur bekommen.

Landessprache von Grönland

Grönländisch

Währung von Grönland

Dänische Kronen (1€ ≈ 7,4 Dänische Kronen)

Wie sage ich Danke in Grönland?

Qujan

Zeitzone in Grönland

Der Zeitunterschied zu Mitteleuropa beträgt -3 Stunden.

Beste Reisezeit um nach Grönland zu reisen

Mai bis September, Polarlichter von September bis März

Geheime Orte in Grönland