Peru

Immerse yourself in the history of the Incas and get to know the people of Peru. With a variety of traditions, you are sure to have a great time here.

Why travel to Peru?

Food

Peruvian cuisine is in many cases based on potatoes and corn, seasoned with lots of garlic, pepper and fresh chili peppers. Typical dishes in Peru are ceviche - raw fish marinated in lime juice and seasoned with pepper - in the coastal regions, cuy - guinea pig, often in one piece - in the Andes, and plantains, beans and cassava as ingredients in the rainforest. In Peru's new cuisine, top chefs are trying to adapt traditional dishes to the modern culture of the big cities.

Culture

The culture of Peru is determined by a mixture of the culture of South America, the indigenous peoples and the descendants of the Spaniards. Due to the diversity with the different indigenous tribes and the European descendants, many traditions and customs coexist here. On June 24th you can experience the sun festival "Inty Raymi", which is a sign for the belief in Pachama and the sun in whole Peru. It is one of the biggest festivals in South America.

People

About 30 million people live in Peru. Almost half of these people belong to the indigenous tribes of Quechua, Aymara or other tribes of the rainforest areas. Peruvians are friendly and warm and are happy when you show interest in their country, their culture and their traditions, because patriotism is very important to them.

Nature

Peru has many different climatic zones. Because of this, a variety of animal and plant species can be found. One can go from long, desert-like beaches to the Andean highlands to the Amazon rainforest.

National language of Peru

Spanish

Peru currency

Peruvian sol (PEN) (1 euro ≈ 4.5131 PEN)

How do I say thank you in Peru?

Gracias!

Peru Time Zone

The time difference from Central Europe is -6 hours

Best time to travel to Peru

June - September

Secret places in Peru

A 50€ voucher is waiting for you

Sign up now for the TripLegend newsletter for free and get 50€ off your first booking. Get travel inspiration and adventure ideas delivered to your inbox.

Peru

Tauche ein in die Geschichte der Inkas und lerne die Menschen Perus kennen. Mit einer Vielfalt an Traditionen wirst du hier sicherlich eine tolle Zeit haben.

Warum nach Peru reisen?

Essen

Die peruanische Küche basiert in vielen Fällen auf Kartoffeln und Mais, gewürzt mit viel Knoblauch, Pfeffer und frischen Chilischoten. Typische Gerichte in Peru sind Ceviche - roher Fisch in Limettensaft mariniert und mit Pfeffer gewürzt - in den Küstenregionen, Cuy - Meerschweinchen, häufig am Stück - in den Anden und Kochbananen, Bohnen und Maniok als Zutaten im Regenwald. In der neuen Küche Perus versuchen sich Spitzenköche daran, traditionelle Gericht an die moderne Kultur der Großstädte anzupassen.

Kultur

Die Kultur Perus ist bestimmt durch eine Mischung der Kultur Südamerikas, der indigenen Völker und der Nachfahren der Spanier. Durch die Diversität mit den verschiedenen indigenen Stämmen und den europäischen Nachfahren existieren hier viele Traditionen und Bräuche nebeneinander. Am 24. Juni kann man das Sonnenfest "Inty Raymi" erleben, welches als Zeichen für den Glauben an Pachama und die Sonne in ganz Peru gilt. Es ist eines der größten Feste Südamerikas.

Menschen

Etwa 30 Millionen Menschen leben in Peru. Knapp die Hälfte dieser Menschen gehören zu den indigenen Stämmen der Quechua, Aymara oder anderen Stämmen der Regenwaldgebiete. Peruaner sind freundlich und herzlich und freuen sich darüber, wenn man Interesse an ihrem Land, ihrer Kultur und ihren Traditionen zeigt, denn Patriotismus wird bei ihnen großgeschrieben.

Natur

In Peru herrschen viele verschiedene Klimazonen. Aufgrund dessen kann eine Vielfalt an Tier- und Pflanzenarten vorgefunden werden. Man kann von langen, wüstenähnlichen Stränden über das Andenhochland in den Regenwald des Amazonas gelangen.

Landessprache von Peru

Spanisch

Währung von Peru

Peruanischer Sol (PEN) (1 Euro ≈ 4,5131 PEN)

Wie sage ich Danke in Peru?

Gracias!

Zeitzone in Peru

Der Zeitunterschied zu Mitteleuropa beträgt -6 Stunden

Beste Reisezeit um nach Peru zu reisen

Juni - September

Geheime Orte in Peru